Las Vegas Justice Court Township is a limited jurisdiction court and the caseload is restricted to particular types of cases or actions prescribed by the Nevada Revised Statues.  Las Vegas Justice Court determines whether felony and gross misdemeanor cases have enough evidence to be bound over to District Court for trial.  The court hears misdemeanor non-traffic cases as well as general civil cases (amounts up to $10,000), small claims (up to $10,000), summary eviction cases, and requests for temporary protective orders (domestic violence or stalking and harassment).

Chapter 4 of the Nevada Revised Statues pertains to the jurisdiction of Justice Courts.

The Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure (JCRCP) govern civil actions, small-claims actions, and summary-eviction actions in all Justice Courts of Nevada.

The Justice Court Rules for the Las Vegas Township (JCRLV) are local rules that are specific to the Las Vegas Justice Court.  These rules govern civil actions, small-claims actions, summary-eviction actions, unlawful-detainer actions, and protection-order (TPO) actions.  These rules also regulate structural aspects of the Las Vegas Justice Court, including the authority of the Chief Judge, the Court’s hours of operation, and methods of case assignment.

The 16 Justices of the Peace are elected and serve within the townships in which they reside.  The Justices of the Peace are elected for six year terms and the respective departments are as follows:

Chief Judge Cynthia Cruz Department 5
Judge Elana Lee Graham Department 1
Judge Joseph S. Sciscento Department 2
Judge Harmony Letizia Department 3
Judge Melissa A. Saragosa Department 4
Judge Jessica Goodey Department 6
Judge Amy Wilson Department 7
Judge Ann E. Zimmerman Department 8
Judge Joe M. Bonaventure Department 9
Judge Noreen DeMonte Department 10
Judge Eric A. Goodman Department 11
Judge Diana L. Sullivan Department 12
Judge Rebecca Saxe Department 13 
Judge Amy Chelini Department 14
Judge Melisa De La Garza Department 15
Judge Nadia Wood Department 16

Las Vegas Justice Court Administrative structure includes the following:
Justice Court Administrator/Deputy Clerk  - Jessica Gurley